How to connect a Facebook Page or Group (not Profile)

    Whilst Buffer authenticates your Facebook pages and groups through your personal profile, we won't access your personal information or post on your profile.

    Connecting to your Facebook Page or Group will differ depending on whether or not you're already logged into Facebook. If you're not already logged in, you'll need to enter your Facebook login details first. This will look like you're connecting to your personal Profile, but you'll have the option to choose the Page or Group later on. We're sorry this is a bit confusing! The quickest way to connect your Page or Group would be to login to Facebook first. Here are the steps you'll need:

    1

    Log into Facebook as your personal Profile*

    2

    Head back over to Buffer

    • If you're on the Individual or Awesome Plan, click Connect More at the bottom left of your dashboard and then choose Page or Group under Facebook
    • If you're on a Business or Enterprise Plan, click Add a Social Account at the top left of your dashboard and then choose Facebook Page or Facebook Group
    3

    Select the Page or Group you'd like to connect and you're all set!

    * In order to connect a Facebook Page to Buffer, your personal Profile will need to have either the "Page Admin" role or the "Page Editor" role. Users with other roles including Moderator, Advertiser or Analyst will not be able to authorise the connection between the Facebook Page and Buffer. Here are some handy links you might like to check out:

    If your page is not listed...

    If your page is not listed as an option to connect, it means that Buffer doesn't have permission to connect your page. To fix this, you'll need to reauthorize Facebook and adjust a few settingsto help Buffer find the page. 

    1

    Start by going to   Application Settings in Facebook.

    2

    You should see the Buffer app listed on the page. Click on the [X] to the right of Buffer to remove it from Facebook.

    3

    After clicking on the [X] you will see a pop up asking if you'd also like to "Delete all your Buffer activities including posts, photos and videos on Facebook." It is very important to leave this unticked, unless you really do want to delete any posts that have been published to Facebook via Buffer. If you have any questions about this, please don't hesitate to contact us.

    4

    Head back over to your  Buffer dashboard.

    5

    Next, try connecting the page:

    • If you're on the Individual or Awesome Plan, click Connect More at the bottom left of your dashboard and then choose Page or Group under Facebook
    • If you're on a Business or Enterprise Plan, click Add a Social Account at the top left of your dashboard and then choose Facebook Page or Facebook Group
    6

    When you see this pop-up appear, please click, Choose What You Allow.

    7

    On the next screen that appears, under Manage your pages and Publish as Pages you manage, please make sure the page you wish to be connected has a check mark next to it so that Buffer can access your page to connect it. Here's what this looks like:  

    8

    Once you've selected the pages you want Buffer to be able to manage, click on OK. The page should now appear on the next screen. Click the page you wish to connect to select it and add to Buffer!