[Publish] How to reconnect a social account

IN THIS ARTICLE

Summary

A social account may occasionally need to be reconnected to Buffer Publish. This could be because the login details to the social account have changed, or because the access token has expired. In this cases, you'll see the following pop up when you login to your account. This guide walks through the steps to get your social account reconnected.

Reconnecting your social account on the web app

1

Click on the Reconnect Now button in the popup, or head to Settings > Reconnect. Make sure you have the disconnected social account selected on the left hand side of your dashboard.

2

You'll be prompted to re-enter your login details and after that, you should be all set.

If you have any failed posts in your Queue, you can now go ahead and retry them, using either of the following options:

  • Retry in Buffer: Add the post back to your Buffer Queue to be sent according to your posting schedule
  • Retry Now: Publish the post immediately

Reconnecting your social account on the iOS or Android app

1

Begin by opening the Buffer app on your iOS or Android device and tapping round avatar icon at the top left of your screen.

2

Select the social account that needs reconnecting.

3

Tap the Settings button at the bottom right of your screen.

4

From there, tap Reconnect this Account.

5

You'll be prompted to re-enter your login details and after that, you should be all set and can retry any failed posts in your Queue.

Reauthorizing your Facebook account

On some occasions, a simple reconnect won't do the trick for Facebook accounts, and it will instead need to fully reauthorized. In these cases, please follow the steps below.

1

Log in to Facebook and head to  Application Settings.

2

You should see the Buffer app listed on the page. Click on the [X] to the right of the Buffer app to remove it from Facebook.

3

You will then see a pop up asking if you'd also like to "Delete all your Buffer activities including posts, photos and videos on Facebook."  It is very important to leave this unticked, unless you really do want to delete any posts that have been published to Facebook via Buffer. If you have any questions about this, please don't hesitate to contact us.

4

Head back over to  https://buffer.com/app

5

Select your Facebook account on the left hand side of your dashboard and then click on Settings > Reconnect. Be sure to accept all permissions during the connection process. From that point, you should be all set you and can retry any failed posts in your Queue.

In order to reconnect a Facebook Page, your personal Facebook Profile will either need to be the owner of the Page or alternatively have the "Page Admin" or "Page Editor" role. For more information, please hop over to  this article.