[Publish] How to pause your queue

Summary

There are occasions when you might wish to pause your queue in order to stop posts being sent to your social media accounts. Buffer has a built-in Pause feature allowing you to do just that!

When your queue is paused, all scheduled posts will also be paused and will not be sent out. Any posts that are scheduled for a custom date and time (the ones highlighted with a blue banner), will also fail to send and you will see the following message: " This post failed because your queue is currently paused."

Once your queue has been unpaused, the posts you had scheduled will become active again and be placed into the next available timeslots (in the original order in which they were scheduled). You will then be able to reschedule any failed posts that were scheduled for a custom date and time.

Please note that pausing is done on a per social account basis. If you have multiple social accounts that you'd like to pause posting for, you will need to pause each queue individually.

How to Pause your Queue

To pause your queue, click on the Settings tab and then click on Pause Queue.

How to Unpause your Queue

You'll see a message at the top of your queue noting that it has been paused. Click on the link to unpause your queue. Alternatively, you can click on the Settings tab and then click on Unpause Queue.