[Publish] Best practices for efficiency

IN THIS ARTICLE

Default social accounts

A tick to the left of one of your social accounts, indicates that it is set as a default. Default social accounts will be automatically selected whenever you open the composer to schedule a post, *when you first login to Buffer Publish.

If you often schedule posts for a specific set of social accounts, it might be helpful to mark those as defaults. A default social account can always be deselected in the composer if you don't wish to include it. Alternatively, if you'd rather pick and choose social accounts each time you open the composer, you might prefer to remove all the ticks to the left of your social accounts, thus making them all non-defaults.

If you’re managing a large number of social accounts, e.g. more than 20, we would recommend not using defaults. We’ve seen a few cases where content has been inadvertently published to the wrong social accounts due to the post creator not noticing which ones were selected in the composer.

* Whenever you open the composer for the first time after logging into Buffer Publish, your default social accounts will be selected automatically. However, if you then move away to a different social account (by selecting it on the left hand side of your dashboard), the defaults will be ignored and only that social account will be selected.

Posting Groups

With Buffer Publish, you're able to schedule posts for one or multiple social accounts. Within the composer, you're able to select or deselect the social accounts you'd like to include by clicking on the avatars at the top of the composer. If you're on one of our Business Plans, you'll have access to a feature called Posting Groups.

Posting Groups are collections of social accounts, which you can use to make scheduling content to multiple social accounts quicker and easier. With the click of a button, you can select all of the social accounts that belong to a particular Posting Group. Here are a few examples of how you might like to group your social accounts:

  • A Group for your business social accounts and a Group for your personal social accounts
  • A Group for each social network
  • A Group for each country or region
  • A Group for each client (works great for agencies!)

Due to the fact that team members might have access to some social accounts and not others, Posting Groups are unique to each team member. This means that if you set up some Posting Groups, those will not be available (or visible) to your team members. If you'd like to ensure that team members have the same Posting Groups set up, it's best to share a list of social accounts and the name of the Posting Group with each team member, so they can replicate them within their own account.

See here for guidance on setting up Posting Groups >>

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.