[Analyze] How to reconnect a social account

Summary

Social accounts will become disconnected from time to time. Whilst this can be frustrating, it's good to keep in mind that this is normal behaviour and is usually the result of the social network making a change to keep your account safe and secure.

Connections between Buffer Analyze and your social accounts require access tokens, which can expire for a number of reasons, including password changes and explicit lifespans of an access token. Learn more about access tokens, and how and when they might expire, here.

Reconnect your social account

Most commonly, social accounts only require a simple reconnection. To perform a simple reconnection, follow these steps:

1

In the lower left-hand corner of your dashboard, choose Manage Accounts. You'll be taken to the next screen where you can manage social accounts, your plan and settings.

2

Click the refresh icon next to the account you need to reconnect and follow the prompts.

Reauthorizing your Instagram or Facebook account

On some occasions, a simple reconnect won't do the trick, and instead your social account will need to be fully reauthorized.

1

Head over to Facebook and navigate to Settings and then Business integrations (or click this link).

2

You should see Buffer listed in the integrations area. This will need to be removed in order to continue. Tick the check box and then click Remove.

3

Leave the check box unticked and then click Remove.

4

Head back over to Buffer Analyze.

5

Choose Manage Account. You'll be taken to the next screen where you can manage social accounts and settings.

6

Click the refresh icon next to the account you need to reconnect and follow the prompts.

Notes:

  • In order to reconnect a Facebook Page, your personal Facebook Profile will either need to be the owner of the Page or alternatively have the "Page Admin" role. Although it's possible to connect Facebook Pages if you have the "Page Editor" role, it is not possible to reconnect them with this level of permission.
  • If you're reconnecting an Instagram account, please ensure you are logging into your personal Facebook Profile that has the Admin Role on the Facebook Page connected to your Instagram Business Profile.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.