[Publish] How to reconnect a social account

IN THIS ARTICLE

Summary

Social accounts will become disconnected from time to time. Whilst this can be frustrating, it's good to keep in mind that this is normal behaviour and is usually the result of the social network making a change to keep your account safe and secure.

Connections between Buffer Publish and your social accounts require access tokens, which can expire for a number of reasons, including password changes and explicit lifespans of an access token. For more information on access tokens, and how and when they might expire, please check out this guide.

Reconnecting your social account

1

Click on the Reconnect Now button in the popup, or select the disconnected social account on the left hand side of your dashboard and then head to Settings > Reconnect.

2

You'll be prompted to re-enter your login details and after that, you should be all set.

If you have any failed posts in your Queue, you can now go ahead and retry them. Clicking Retry in Buffer will add your post to the next available time slot according to your Posting Schedule. Clicking Retry Now will publish your post immediately.

One some occasions, a simple reconnect won't do the trick, and instead your social account will need to be fully reauthorized. In these cases, please follow the steps outlined below for the specific social network that needs to be reauthorized.

Reauthorizing your Facebook or Instagram account

1

Log in to Facebook and head to Business Integrations.

2

You should see the Buffer app listed on the page. Tick the checkbox to the right of the app and then click Remove.

3

You will then see a pop up asking if you'd also like to "Delete all your Buffer activities including posts, photos and videos on Facebook." It is very important to leave this unticked, unless you really do want to delete any posts that have been published to Facebook via Buffer. If you have any questions about this, please don't hesitate to contact us.

4

Head back over to https://buffer.com/app.

5

Select your Facebook or Instagram account on the left hand side of your dashboard and then click on Settings > Reconnect. Be sure to accept all permissions during the connection process. From that point, you should be all set you and can retry any failed posts in your Queue.

Notes:

  • If you're reconnecting an Instagram account, please ensure you are logging into your personal Facebook Profile that has the Admin Role on the Facebook page connected to your Instagram business profile.
  • If multiple Facebook Pages or Instagram accounts have become disconnected, and they were authorised through your own personal Facebook Profile, reconnecting one of them, should also reconnect the rest.
  • In order to reconnect a Facebook Page, your personal Facebook Profile will either need to be the owner of the Page or alternatively have the "Page Admin" role. Although it's possible to connect Facebook Pages if you have the "Page Editor" role, it is not possible to reconnect them with this level of permission.

Reauthorizing your LinkedIn account

1

Log in to your LinkedIn account.

2

Click on your profile image in the top right corner and then click on Settings & Privacy.

3

Click on Partners & Services on the left hand side.

4

Click on Permitted Services. You should then see a list of authorized apps. Locate Buffer and click Remove.

5

Head back over to https://buffer.com/app.

6

Select your LinkedIn account on the left hand side of your dashboard and then click on Settings> Reconnect. From that point, you should be all set you and can retry any failed posts in your Queue.

Notes:

  • If multiple LinkedIn Pages have become disconnected, and they were authorised through your own personal LinkedIn Profile, reconnecting one of them should also reconnect the rest.
  • In order to reconnect a LinkedIn Page, your personal LinkedIn Profile will either need to be the owner of the Page or alternatively have the "Page Admin" role.

Reauthorizing your Google+ account

1

Log in to your Google+ account and head to Apps with access to your account.

2

You should then see a list of authorized apps. Locate Buffer and click REMOVE ACCESS.

3

Head back over to https://buffer.com/app.

4

Select your Google+ account on the left hand side of your dashboard and then click on Settings Reconnect. From that point, you should be all set you and can retry any failed posts in your Queue.

Reauthorizing your Pinterest account

1

Log in to your Pinterest account.

2

Click on the settings icon at the top left and then click on Settings.

3

From there, click Apps on the left hand side.

4

You should then see a list of authorized apps. Locate Buffer and click Revoke Access.

5

Head back over to https://buffer.com/app.

6

Select your Pinterest account on the left hand side of your dashboard and then click on Settings Reconnect. From that point, you should be all set you and can retry any failed posts in your Queue.