[Publish] What happens when you downgrade to the Free Plan

Your Buffer Publish account may be downgraded to the Free Plan under the following circumstances:

  • You actively choose to downgrade from a paid plan to the Free Plan (this is totally okay!)
  • You've been on a free trial of the Pro or Business Plan and you don't upgrade at the end of the trial
  • You're on a paid plan but the credit card associated with your account expires, or a payment fails. In this case, we’ll share notice of that payment failure immediately, and we’ll retry processing the payment three times over a two week period. If the billing doesn’t succeed after those attempts, the account will automatically migrate over to the Free Plan.

When your account is downgraded to the Free Plan, you will then be within the limits of that plan. On the Free Plan, you're able to connect up to 3 social accounts. Please note that Pinterest is not currently supported on the Free Plan.

If you have more than 3 social accounts connected to your Buffer account at the time of downgrading, they will be locked. To note, locked accounts are kept safe if you’d ever like to reactivate your subscription to the Pro or Business Plan. When a social account is locked, Buffer will halt the scheduling and interaction for those accounts.

If a social account has more than 10 posts in the queue at the time of downgrading, all scheduled posts will continue to publish (unless it is a locked account). With the Free Plan's 10 post limit, new posts can't be added to the queue until the total number of posts is below 10.

If your Buffer account has team members at the time of downgrading, those team members will also be locked from accessing any social accounts you'd invited them to.

More information on our plans can be found here.