Managing team members

Summary

Having a team of people helping with your social media strategy can be a crucial asset in achieving your social media goals. At Buffer, we have a team of people who share on our social media profiles. In order to give everyone access to the profiles, as well as prevent over-sharing, we have added them as team members.

Keen to see team members and approvals in action?  Join a Buffer for Business webinar →

Inviting Team Members

1

Start by clicking on the  Admin link at the top of the dashboard and then click on Team Members.

2

From there, click on Invite a New Team Member and then enter their name and email address. As the account owner, you’re able to decide which profiles each of your team members should have access to. This is super handy if you wanted to manage both your personal and business profiles in Buffer. Assign the team member to each of the profiles you’d like to give them access to. Once a profile has been selected, set the level of access the team member should have.

  • If a team member is invited with Approval Required Access, they will be able to suggest new content, which you can then edit if needed, before approving it to be added to the queue.
  • If a team member is invited with Full Posting Access, they will be able to post directly to the queue, as well as helping you with approvals and managing the schedule — saving you a ton of time in the process.

You can then continue assigning the team member to as many profiles as you’d like.

If your team member should have access to connect social profiles and manage team members on your Buffer account, you can provide them with full Admin Access. Be careful with this option and only grant it if your team member is familiar with Buffer. They will have full control over all of the profiles you’ve already connected.

3

Finally, click on Invite Team Member. They will receive an email invitation and will be required to create their own Buffer login. Once logged in, they will have access to any of the profiles you've assigned to them.

Assigning Permissions in Bulk

1

If you are managing lots of social profiles, you may prefer to assign permissions in bulk. This can be done by visiting the team member's profile and clicking the assign in bulk link.

2

From there, tick the profiles the team member should have access to on the left hand side and then choose the level of access they should have. Finally, click Save Changes.

Approving Posts

Any suggestions submitted by team members, which require approval, will appear in the "Review" tab under "Content". You, as the account owner, along with team members who have full posting access, will have the option to edit and approve posts, as well as delete those which you don’t wish to share on your social media profiles. 

To approve a post right away, click  Approve. The post will be moved into the next available time slot in the queue. If you’d like to make adjustments to the post first, hover over it and click Edit. From here you can change the text, link or image and then click Save and Approve.

You also have the option to remove a post if it’s not one that you’d like to share to social media. Click  Delete to remove it from the list of contributions.

Tip: If you’ve like to receive an email notification when a new contribution is submitted, click  Account at the top of your dashboard and select Email Settings from the drop down list. You'll see a list of reminders that you can enable/disable. Flip the New Contributions option to 'Yep'!

Video Tutorial

Here's a quick video for the visual learners out there!