[Publish] Re-Buffer posts that have already been published
The Re-Buffer feature is only available on our Awesome and Business Plans. It is not available on the Free Plan. More information on our plans can be found here.
IN THIS ARTICLE
Re-sharing content is a really important part of our social media strategy at Buffer, because it enables us to reach audiences who might not have seen our content the first time around. Buffer Publish offers a couple of way to make re-sharing content super quick and easy!
Choosing posts to Re-Buffer
The Posts Report under Analytics, is where you’ll see a history of your posts that have already been published. This is the report you’ll want to use to track your performance of each individual post. As well as the post itself, you’ll also be able to see the date and time the post was shared, who scheduled the post and the key engagement metrics (e.g. clicks, likes, comments).
There are two schools of thoughts when it comes to deciding which posts to re-share:
- Re-share posts that got the best level of engagement: These posts did well the first time around, so re-sharing them could mean reaching new people and having a similar level of success.
- Re-share posts that got a lower level of engagement: You might like to think about re-sharing posts that didn't do so well, making some changes and seeing if you can get a better level of engagement next time.
Sorting your posts by Most Popular and Least Popular, can be really helpful when choosing which posts to re-share. And if you're looking for a specific type of post (e.g. image, video, link), you can use the All Posts filter option in conjunction.
How to Re-Buffer posts
There are two easy ways to Re-Buffer posts.
The first option is to hover the post until you see a four-headed arrow and then drag the post onto the social accounts on the left hand side, which will add the post back into the queue. You can also drag the post onto any other social account if you'd like to share it elsewhere.
The second option is to click on the Re-Buffer button to the right of the post. This option allows you to edit the post before adding it back to the Queue.
Re-sharing content is an important part of our social media strategy at Buffer and we have found most success by taking a different angle on the content each time we share it, so we’re not just repeating ourselves. For example, we try out different headlines when sharing a new blog post to our Twitter account. On Facebook, perhaps we’ll use the blog title the first time we share it and a snippet of interesting text from the blog the second time. Sometimes we’ll use an image, other times we’ll use a video or a gif. There are lots of things you can do to reframe your content.