[Publish] Posts failing to publish to a Facebook Page, or being published as yourself instead of as the Page

IN THIS ARTICLE

Summary

It is important to accept all permissions when connecting a Facebook Page to your Buffer Publish account. There are a couple of scenarios that can happen if permissions have not been set up correctly. But don't worry, it's a quick fix! First, let's look at a couple of scenarios you might see.

Posts failing with an error

Scheduled posts are failing to send with one of the following errors:
"Yoiks! Buffer doesn’t have permission to post on your behalf. Please try reauthorising this account by clicking “ reconnect” under settings."

"An unknown error has occurred, please get in touch if this persists."

This happens when the Publish as Pages you manage permission was not accepted when connecting the Facebook Page to your account.

Posts being attributed to you instead of the Page

When publishing posts to Facebook Pages via Facebook, you will have the option to “post as the Page” or “post as yourself” (i.e. posting from your Facebook Profile). This can be managed by going to Settings > Post Attribution. Posts published “as the Page” will appear on the Page timeline, while posts published “as yourself” will appear in the “Visitor Posts” area (even if you’re a Page Admin).
When publishing posts to Facebook Pages via Buffer Publish, all posts will be posted “as the Page”. That said, we have seen some instances of posts being published “as yourself” instead of “as the Page”. This can happen during the connection process if Facebook sends Buffer the user access token instead of the Page access token.

How to fix

Both of these scenarios can be fixed by checking and updating the permissions that Buffer has within Facebook. This can be done by going to Business Integrations in Facebook, locating Buffer and updating the permissions there. Whilst this should do the trick, we generally recommend reauthorising your Facebook Page completely to ensure all required permissions are accepted. Here are the steps you’ll need to reauthorise your Facebook Page:

1

Log in to Facebook and head to Business Integrations.

2

You should see the Buffer app listed on the page. Click on the [X] to the right of the Buffer app to remove it from Facebook.

3

You will then see a pop up asking if you'd also like to "Delete all your Buffer activities including posts, photos and videos on Facebook."  It is very important to leave this unticked, unless you really do want to delete any posts that have been published to Facebook via Buffer. If you have any questions about this, please don't hesitate to contact us.

4

Head back over to https://buffer.com/app

5

Select your Facebook account on the left hand side of your dashboard and then click on Settings > Reconnect. Be sure to accept all permissions during the connection process. From that point, you should be all set you and can retry any failed posts in your Queue.

In order to reconnect a Facebook Page, your personal Facebook Profile will either need to be the owner of the Page or alternatively have the "Page Admin" role. Although it's possible to connect Facebook Pages if you have the "Page Editor" role, it is not possible to reconnect them with this level of permission.