[Publish] How to pause your queue

Summary

There are occasions when you might wish to pause your Queue in order to stop posts being sent to your social media accounts. Buffer Publish has a built-in pause feature allowing you to do just that!

When your Queue is paused, all scheduled posts will also be paused and will not be sent out. Pinned posts, i.e. those that that are scheduled for a custom date and time, will also fail to send and you will see the following message: "This post failed because your queue is currently paused."

Once your Queue has been unpaused, the posts you had scheduled will become active again and be placed into the next available time slots (in the original order in which they were scheduled). You will then be able to reschedule any failed posts that were scheduled for a custom date and time.

Pausing is done on a per-social account basis. If you have multiple social accounts that you'd like to pause posting for, you will need to pause each Queue individually.

How to pause (and resume) your Queue

To pause your Queue, click on Settings and then select the Posting Schedule tab. From there, click Pause Queue. Whenever your Queue is paused, you'll see a message at the top of your Queue (like this) letting you know.

You can return to the same place anytime to unpause your Queue by clicking Resume Queue.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.