[Publish] Working with multiple Instagram accounts

Unlike other social networks like Twitter and Facebook, Instagram only allow third party apps to publish posts automatically on behalf of users under specific conditions. Therefore, Buffer Publish offers two ways of posting to Instagram: Direct Scheduling and Reminders.

Any posts being shared to an Instagram Personal Account, regardless of the type of content, will be scheduled as reminders. Additionally, posts being shared to an Instagram Business Profile, which contain multiple images will be scheduled as reminders. The reminder will be sent as a push notification to your phone when it's time for your post to be published. Whenever you're scheduling a post, we'll let you know if it's going to be scheduled as a reminder. Additionally, posts scheduled as reminders will display a bell icon in the Queue.

If you’re managing multiple Instagram accounts, it’s important to make sure you’re posting to the correct account. When the reminder comes through to your phone, the message will state which Instagram account the post is intended for.

Tapping the alert will bring you to a preview of your Instagram post within the Buffer mobile app. From there, tap Open in Instagram. You'll then be prompted to check if you’re posting to the correct account. If you’re unsure, tap See who is logged on. This will take you to the Instagram app where you can check which account you’re currently using.

Instagram allows you to connect five accounts per device, meaning you can easily switch between them without logging in and out each time. Once in Instagram, head to your profile page and if you’re logged into multiple accounts you’ll be able to switch between them by tapping the account name at the top of the screen.

Once you have the right account selected, head back to the Buffer app and share your post as normal (you can do this by clicking < Buffer at the top left of the screen).

Instagram have a limit of five active accounts per device, which means if you’re managing more than that, you will need to fully log out of each account and log back into the correct one that the post is intended for. One thing to note is that you would need to make sure Instagram is not "remembering" the login details for each account, otherwise it wouldn't let you login to a sixth account.