[Publish] Do you have client approvals?
We do not have a separate type of team member or permissions level specifically for clients, but this can work by setting them up with “Full Posting Access”. Let’s dive in and see how this works!
You have complete control over which social accounts each team member has access to. This is great if you have certain team members looking after certain clients - you would only give them access to the client’s social accounts that they’re taking care of. And if you’re inviting your clients, you would only give them access to their own social accounts.
For each social account you give your team member access to, you have the choice of permission level:
- Approval Required Access: Team member is able to create posts in the Drafts area and request approval on them.
- Full Posting Access: Team member is able to create posts directly in the Queue, without the need for approval. They’re also able to approve posts created by team members with Approval Required Access.
If posts need approval from clients, you would need to set your internal members of staff up with Approval Required Access and your clients with Full Posting Access. The flow then would be for your members of staff to create posts within the Drafts area and then request approval. The client would then be able to review, edit and approve those posts, at which point they’ll be moved to the Queue, ready to be published according to the Posting Schedule.
Please note, the Buffer Publish account owner will always have Full Posting Access on all social accounts and this is not configurable. This means that if the account owner will be creating posts for clients, they will be added directly to the Queue, without the need for approval. In this case, you might wish to invite yourself as a team member with Approval Required Access (under a different email address). With this solution, you would need to login under your owner account to connect new social accounts, manage team members and customise Posting Schedules. You’d then need to login to your team member account to create posts.
Other factors to consider:
- If your internal members of staff have Approval Required Access, all posts they add will need to be approved by the client. It is not possible to pick and choose which posts require approval. This can be a drawback for some agencies, who need the flexibility of requesting approval on some posts and not on others.
- Clients will have Full Posting Access (on their own social accounts), meaning they’re able to configure the Posting Schedule, schedule their own posts, and view/download reports.
- Your internal members of staff will have Approval Required Access, meaning they won’t have the ability to customise the Posting Schedule, modify any posts in the Queue, rearrange the order in which they’ll be sent, or configure custom publishing times for posts that are already scheduled. These actions would either need to be completed by the client (since they’ll have Full Posting Access) or the account owner.