[Publish] Limitations with sharing duplicate content on Twitter
In February 2018, Twitter announced new guidelines to prevent people from misusing multiple Twitter accounts to artificially amplify a message. Twitter have provided detailed definitions of what constitutes spam in the Twitter Rules and Automation Rules, but have advised third party apps and all users to keep two specific policies front of mind:
- Posting duplicative or substantially similar content, replies, or mentions over multiple accounts you control, or creating duplicate or substantially similar accounts, with or without the use of automation, is never allowed.
- Posting multiple updates (on a single account or across multiple accounts you control) to a trending or popular topic (for instance, through the use of a specific hashtag) with an intent to subvert or manipulate the topic, or to artificially inflate the prominence of a hashtag or topic, is never allowed.
This means that third party services, like Buffer, are no longer permitted to enable users to share the same post to Twitter, either on multiple Twitter accounts, or multiple times on one account. The deadline for third party apps to comply with these rules was March 23, 2018. Since announcing these guidelines, Twitter continued to highlight them on their own feed, which means it's very important that Buffer, and all third party apps, comply.
For this reason, we have made some changes to Buffer Publish, which means it's no longer possible to duplicate content, either across one, or multiple, Twitter accounts. You will still be able to schedule content to multiple Twitter accounts using one Buffer Publish account, just not the same message.
Although these kinds of changes can be a little disruptive at first, we think this is great news for the Twitter ecosystem, and we believe that our new composer experience is a small step towards helping marketers create authentic content.
What has changed in Buffer Publish?
|Composer||When using the composer, if you already have a Twitter account selected and then you select another one, the first will be de-selected. You'll see a message like this, letting you know about the changes, along with which Twitter account you'll be posting to.|
|Copying tweets using drag and drop||You are no longer able to use the drag and drop copy feature to copy posts from one Twitter Queue to another.|
|Re-Buffering tweets using drag and drop||You are no longer able to Re-Buffer previously published tweets to Twitter accounts using drag and drop. You can still use the Re-Buffer button, which allows you to modify the post before sharing it again.|