[Publish] Instagram Reminders

IN THIS ARTICLE

Summary

Unlike other social networks like Twitter and Facebook, Instagram only allow third party apps to publish posts automatically on behalf of users under specific conditions. Therefore, Buffer Publish offers two ways of posting to Instagram: Direct Scheduling and Reminders.

Any posts being shared to an Instagram Personal Account, regardless of the type of content, will be scheduled as reminders. Additionally, posts being shared to an Instagram Business Profile, which contain multiple images will be scheduled as reminders. The reminder will be sent as a push notification to your phone when it's time for your post to be published. Whenever you're scheduling a post, we'll let you know if it's going to be scheduled as a reminder. Additionally, posts scheduled as reminders will display a bell icon in the Queue.

This guide walks through receiving notifications and completing the posting process in Instagram itself, on both iOS and Android.

iOS Reminders

When it's time for your post to be published, you'll receive a notification to your phone. Tapping the alert will bring you to a preview of your Instagram post within the Buffer mobile app. From there, tap Open in Instagram.

If you're managing multiple Instagram accounts, make sure you are switched to the correct account before you publish your post there.

You can then choose whether to post to your Feed or Story.

If you're posting to your Feed...

At this point, you'll be able to crop your photo and set filters on it if you'd like to, just the same way as if you were sharing a photo natively. The caption will be saved to your clipboard so you'll need to tap within the caption area and paste it in. From there, tap Share and your post will be published.

Please note, if you added a location when scheduling the post, this will not be included. Including a location when scheduling your post will only work if the post is published automatically, so you may wish to add the location back in before sharing the post.

If you're posting to your Story...

If you included a caption with your image or video when scheduling, you can paste it in as text using the Aa option at the top right corner of your screen.

You can make any other changes you like, such as adding locations, stickers, text, etc. If you have a verified business profile, and you have 10,000 followers or more, you'll also have the option to include a link within your story. When a link is added, followers will see a See More link at the bottom of the screen, and can tap to view the link within the Instagram app. Tap on the link icon at the top of the screen and then enter the link you'd like to use.

Once you're happy, tap Your story at the bottom left of your screen, and you're all set!

Android Reminders

When it's time for your post to be published, you'll receive a notification to your phone. Tapping the alert will bring you to a preview of your Instagram post within the Buffer mobile app. You can then choose whether to Share as Post (to your feed) or Share as Story.

If you don't see the option to choose between posting to your feed or story, please refer to this guide.

If you're managing multiple Instagram accounts, make sure you are switched to the correct account before you publish your post there.

If you're posting to your Feed...

At this point, you'll be able to crop your photo and set filters on it if you'd like to, just the same way as if you were sharing a photo natively. The caption will be saved to your clipboard so you'll need to tap within the caption area and paste it in. From there, tap Share and your post will be published.

Please note, if you added a location when scheduling the post, this will not be included. Including a location when scheduling your post will only work if the post is published automatically, so you may wish to add the location back in before sharing the post.

If you're posting to your Story...

If you included a caption with your image or video when scheduling, you can paste it in as text using the Aa option at the top right corner of your screen.

You can make any other changes you like, such as adding locations, stickers, text, etc.

Once you're happy, tap Your Story at the bottom left of your screen, and you're all set!

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.